Shane Rhodes makes Ottawa Book Award shortlist

Congratulations to Shane Rhodes who has been shortlisted for the 2012 Ottawa Book Award for fiction for his latest collection, Err. He is the only poet to be nominated in this category—a testament to the power of his poetry. Rhodes is the author of 5 collections of poetry: The Wireless Room (NeWest Press, 2000), which won the Alberta Book Award for poetry, Tengo Sed (Greenboathouse, 2004), Holding Pattern (NeWest, 2002), which won the Archibald Lampman Award, The Bindery (NeWest, 2007), which won the Lampman-Scott Award, and his latest Nightwood collection, Err (2011). 

Congrats to the other nominees, including Alan Cumyn for Tilt (Groundwood), Jamieson Findlay for The Summer of Permanent wants (Doubleday Canada), Elizabeth Hay for Alone in the Classroom (M&S) and Frances Itani for Requiem (HarperCollins).  The award finalists will be announced on Wed, October 24th.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.