Sorry…!

We are experiencing technical difficulties with our website. We hope to have it up and running properly in the next few days. For news, go to our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/NightwoodEditions.


Posted in Uncategorized by admin. No Comments

Alex Leslie Launches ‘The things I heard about you’ in Toronto & Montreal

Join Alex Leslie as she celebrates the release of her poetry collection The things I heard about you (Nightwood Editions) with events in Toronto and Montreal this November!

Toronto – Wednesday, November 5: Book launch at Type Books (883 Queen Street West), 7pm. Featuring local guest readers Daniel Allen Cox and Linda Besner. Admission is free and all are welcome to attend. More info: 416-366-8973 or www.typebooks.ca

Toronto – Thursday, November 6: Reading as part of the Livewords readings series at Betty’s Basement (40 King Street East – 2nd floor), 8pm. Doors at 7:30pm. Also reading are Donato Mancini,  Lynn McClory, and Jacob McArthur Mooney. Donation requested. More info: www.livewords.ca

Montreal – Saturday, November 8: Book launch at Librairie Drawn & Quarterly (211 Rue Bernard Ouest), 7pm. Featuring local guest readers Daniel Allen Cox and Linda Besner. Admission is free and all are welcome to attend. More info: (514) 279-2224

Shortlisted for the 2014 Robert Kroetsch award for innovative poetry, The things I heard about you is a collection of prose poems that explores precision and the unspoken, executing a process whereby vignettes and scenes break apart into fragments, rumours or suggestions of the original story. The poems have been subjected to a “blackout” process in which they are distilled into smaller, more potent versions of their previous selves, often leading to a new thought, effect, or revelation. It is a is an evocative, beautifully crafted book of tidal memories and elegies, love songs to the coast and all its inhabitants.

Alex Leslie has published a collection of stories, People Who Disappear (Freehand, 2012), which was shortlisted for a 2013 Lambda Award and a 2013 Relit Award; as well as a chapbook of microfictions, 20 Objects for the New World (Freehand, 2011). Alex’s writing has won a Gold National Magazine Award for personal journalism and a CBC Literary Award for fiction. Recent projects include editing the Queer issue of Poetry Is Dead magazine, which brought together different approaches to Queer poetics from across Canada. Website: alexleslie.wordpress.com.

These events are made possible with support from the Canada Council for the Arts.



Danny Jacobs shortlisted for the Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry

Congratulations to Danny Jacobs, who is on the shortlist for the Acorn-Plantos 2014 Award for People’s Poetry!

Danny’s book, Songs that Remind Us of Factories, is a book of poems that explore how we remain connected: to the world outside, to our ideas of home, to each other, and to ourselves.

The Acorn-Plantos Award for Peoples Poetry is awarded annually to a Canadian poet, based on a book published in the previous calendar year. The work should follow in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos and others by being accessible to all people in its use of language and image.

Marita Dachsel (Glossolalia, Anvil Press), Kanina Dawson (Masham Means Evening, Coteau Books), Lisa Shatsky (Blame it on the Moon, Black Moss), and Ann Shin (The Family China, Brick Books) are also on the shortlist. The winner will be announced in November, 2014.


Posted in Nominations & Awards by admin. No Comments

Nightwood Editions Vancouver Book Launch!

This fall, Nightwood Editions is releasing new books by four talented authors of fiction and poetry, all of whom hail from British Columbia: Matt Rader, Alex Leslie, Elaine Woo, and Kayla Czaga. You’re invited to join the authors as they celebrate with a book launch event in Vancouver on Sunday, October 19 at 7pm at the Grand Luxe Hall (303 East 8th Ave).

Matt Rader’s short story collection, What I Want to Tell Goes Like This, draws on Vancouver Island’s long and turbulent history of labour activism. The final story in the book, “All This Was a Long Time Ago,” was awarded the Jack Hodgins Founders Award from the Malahat Review. Rader is the 2014 recipient of the Canada Council for the Arts’ Joseph S. Stauffer Prize for literature. He has also written three books of poems, including Miraculous Hours (Nightwood Editions, 2005), which was a finalist for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award and long-listed for the ReLit Award. Rader lives in Kelowna, BC, where he teaches at the University of British Columbia Okanagan.

Alex Leslie’s poetry collection, The things I heard about you, was shortlisted for the 2014 Robert Kroetsch award for innovative poetry. Its prose poems explore precision and the unspoken, executing a process whereby vignettes and scenes break apart into fragments, rumours or suggestions of the original story. A local Vancouver author, Leslie is also the author of the short story collection People Who Disappear (Freehand, 2012), which was shortlisted for a Lambda Award and a ReLit Award; as well as a chapbook of microfictions, 20 Objects for the New World (Freehand, 2011). Leslie’s writing has won a Gold National Magazine Award for personal journalism and a CBC Literary Award for fiction. Recent projects include editing the Queer issue of Poetry Is Dead magazine, which brought together different approaches to Queer poetics from across Canada. Website: alexleslie.wordpress.com.

Elaine Woo’s poetry collection, Cycling with the Dragon, champions the virtue of “smallness”—characters marginalized for their age or status struggle to overcome the limitations imposed upon them by society. Woo is a poet, librettist, and non-fiction writer based in North Vancouver, BC. Her work appears in Arc Poetry Magazine, Shy: An Anthology (recipient of a 2014 silver medal at the Independent Publisher Book Awards), V6A: Writing from Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside (finalist for the 2012 City of Vancouver Book Award), The Enpipe Line, Ricepaper, and more. Her art song collaboration with Daniel Marshall, Night-time Symphony, won a Boston Metro Opera festival prize in 2013. She is also a 2014 recipient of World Poetry’s Empowered Poet award. Cycling with the Dragon is her first book.

Kayla Czaga’s poetry collection, For Your Safety Please Hold On, moves in thematic focus from family, to girlhood, to adulthood, and is permeated by Czaga’s lively voice and quick-witted, playful language. The irrepressible energy of her poems, paired with their complex balancing act between light and dark, humour and melancholy, innocence and danger, make this collection an extraordinary first book. Several of the poems have received awards from literary journals across Canada. Czaga grew up in Kitimat and now lives in Vancouver, BC, where she recently earned her MFA in Creative Writing at UBC.

Admission to the Nightwood Editions book launch is free and all are welcome. There will be a cash bar (beer only), and books available for sale. For more information, please email info@nightwoodeditions.com or go to www.nightwoodeditions.com. This event is made possible with support from the Canada Council for the Arts.