Tim Bowling shortlisted for City of Edmonton Book Prize

Tim Bowling’s latest book, Selected Poems, was shortlisted for the 2014 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize this week. This is the eighth time Bowling has been nominated for this particular award.

Bowling—originally from Ladner, BC, and now living in Edmonton—is no stranger to book awards. His work has garnered numerous prizes and honours, including the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for poetry, the CAA Award for Poetry, the Petra Kenney International Poetry Prize and two Governor General’s Literary Award nominations. But it’s an unusual occurrence to be shortlisted for the same award eight times in only fourteen years.

The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize was established by the City Council in 1995 and is administered by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta. The $10,000 award was recently renamed to honour Robert Kroetsch, who died in a tragic car accident in 2011. Nominated books must deal with some aspect of the city of Edmonton or be written by an Edmonton author. It is sponsored by Audreys Books and the Edmonton Arts Council. The winner will be announced at the annual Mayor’s Celebration for the Arts on April 28, 7:00pm at the Winspear Centre.

With Selected Poems, Bowling has gathered together his finest work, a selection including poetry from his debut collection, Low Water Slack, to his tenth collection, Tenderman (2011). The collection is unabashedly musical, image-rich and ambitious; poems of childhood, family, death, and the pleasures and rigours of art lead into ever-deeper explorations of history, society and middle age, but the faith in the power of language to convey something essential about life remains consistent.

Tim Bowling’s other poetry collections include Dying Scarlet and Tenderman (both winners of the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for poetry); Darkness and Silence (winner of the CAA Award for Poetry); and The Witness Ghost and The Memory Orchard (both nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Poetry). He is also the author of four novels: Downriver DriftThe Paperboy’s WinterThe Bone Sharps and The Tinsmith, which was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize in 2012. His first book of non-fiction, The Lost Coast: Salmon, Memory and the Death of Wild Culture, was shortlisted for The Writers’ Trust Nereus Non-Fiction Award and it won the Alberta Literary Awards’ Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction.

Other nominees for the 2014 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize are Nellie Carlson, Kathleen Steinhauer and Linda Goyette (for Disinherited Generations: Our Struggle to Reclaim Treaty Rights for First Nations Women and their Descendants, University of Alberta Press), and Lynn Coady (for Hellgoing, House of Anansi Press).

Posted in Nominations & Awards by admin. No Comments

Renée Sarojini Saklikar Nominated for Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

Congratulations to Renée Sarojini Saklikar, who has been nominated for the BC Book Prizes’, Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize for her poetry collection children of air india. This award acknowledges the achievements of British Columbia authors of poetry.

children of air india is a series of elegiac sequences exploring the nature of individual loss, situated within public trauma. This collection breaks new ground in its approach to the saga that is Canada/Air India, an event and its aftermath that is both over-reported and under-represented in our national psyche. Why does 9/11 resonate more strongly with Canadians than June 23, 1985? The poems in this book search out answers in the “everything/ness and nothing/ness” of an act and its aftermath, revealing a voice that re-defines and re-visions.

The BC Book Prizes is awarded annually in seven categories, with the intent to celebrate the best writing and publishing in the province. The 30th Annual Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala will take place on Saturday, May 3, 2014, at the Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel.

Other poets nominated for the Poetry Prize include Russell Thornton, Catherine Greenwood, Jorden Abel, and Jennica Harper. Full list of 2014 BC Book Prize nominees available here. Congratulations to all!

Gillian Wigmore shortlisted for the George Ryga Award

Dirt of Ages CoverGillian Wigmore has been shortlisted for the 2014 George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature for her poetry collection, Dirt of Ages. The George Ryga Award is presented to a British Columbia author who has achieved an outstanding degree of social awareness in a newly published book, and is administered by Okanagan College. The winner will be recognized at an evening celebration at Okanagan College on Thursday, March 20, 2014.

Dirt of Ages is steeped in potent imagery that captures the earthly and constructed landscapes of Northern British Columbia and the people that live there.  Images of industry, intimacy and the natural world meet in the perfect “v” of the valley; where “two chafe so close together,” where rural runs into urban and where fog and smog converge as “fetid fall inversions.”

Wigmore’s personal observations and relationship with the wilderness intersect with notions of a universal, societal energy that flows through time, place and each one of us. The result is a collection that awakens the imagination of all the senses, and orients us to Wigmore’s world on the axial point of the man-made and natural environment.

Gillian Wigmore grew up in Vanderhoof, BC, and graduated from the University of Victoria in 1999. She has been published in Geist, CV2, filling station, and the Inner Harbour Review, among others. Wigmore won the 2008 ReLit Award for her work soft geography and was also shortlisted for the Dorothy Livesay BC Book Prize.  She lives in north central BC with her husband and two children.

The other shortlisted books for the George Ryga Award are Adrienne Fitzpatrick’s The Earth Remembers Everything (Caitlin Press), a fictional narrative based on the author’s travels to some of the most violent sites in history and Bev Sellars’ They Called Me Number One: Secrets and Survival at an Indian Residential School (Talonbooks), a non-fiction account of three generations of women forced to attend Canada’s residential schools.

Posted in Uncategorized by admin. No Comments

Shane Rhodes book launch trailer


Watch the new trailer for Shane Rhodes‘s Ottawa launch of X, available here.

Rhodes’s latest work was inspired by one of Canada’s most unpoetic subjects: Canada’s post-confederation treaties and the recent Idle No More protests. Investigating what the treaties mean today and what art can do with such unpoetic documents.


Date: Thursday, January 16, 2014
Time: 8:30pm to 10:00pm
Location: Arts Court at the Ottawa Art Gallery (2 Daly St.)

In lead up to the event, don’t miss Shane’s interview on Ottawa’s CHUO 89.1 fm at 5pm on Wednesday January 15th. Tune in or listen online at http://chuo.fm.