Archive for July, 2009

George Murray and Stephen Rowe Reading

July 23, 2009

The Writer’s Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador hosted Nightwood authors George Murray and Stephen Rowe at their monthly reading series on July 22, 2009 in the Railway Coastal Museum, St. John’s. Rowe’s first book, Never More There, is forthcoming in fall 2009. For more information, go to: www.writersalliance.nf.ca/local.html.

Tags: ,
Posted in Readings & Events | No Comments »

McCartney named “The People’s Poet”

July 18, 2009

Congratulations to Sharon McCartney who was awarded as “The People’s Poet” for her accessible collection The Love Song of Laura Ingalls Wilder. The 2008 Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry goes to a book written in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, and Plantos–accessible to all people in its use of language and image.

Tags:
Posted in Nominations & Awards | No Comments »