Nominations & Awards

Open Book Toronto features Sandy Pool’s Undark

Posted by on June 17, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Sandy Pool‘s latest Trillium-nominated collection, Undark: An Oratorio, gets a thorough and insightful review on Open Book Toronto. Reviewer Alessandro Porco, delves into the historical, political, visual and structural substance of this collection, noting the complexity with which Pool approaches the compelling subject matter of the Radium Women of the early 1900s. The review concludes […]

Trillium nominee Sandy Pool reads from Undark

Posted by on June 13, 2013 at 11:39 am

Celebrate with the Trillium Book Award finalists in T.O. Please join us the evening of June 17,2013 at a Public Authors Reading Event at the Toronto Reference Library. Nightwood poet Sandy Pool will be reading from her nominated collection, Undark and will be joined by several other shortlisted authors for Trillium Book Awards. There is […]

Sandy Pool’s Undark shortlisted for Trillium

Posted by on May 30, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Congratulations to Nightwood poet Sandy Pool, whose latest collection, Undark: An Oratorio has been shortlisted for the 2013 Trillium Book Award for poetry. This award recognizes literary achievement for a first, second or third published work of poetry. Earlier this year, Pool was also shortlisted for the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry. Undark is […]

Sandy Pool joins Alberta Literary Awards shortlist readings

Posted by on April 23, 2013 at 9:26 am

Nightwood poet Sandy Pool joins the lineup of Alberta Literary Awards nominees who will be reading from their shortlisted works on Tuesday, April 23 at the Rose and Crown Pub in Calgary. Sandy will be reading from her latest collection, Undark, which was shortlisted for the prestigious Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry. This poetry […]

Sandy Pool Shortlisted for 2013 Stephan G. Stephansson Poetry Award

Posted by on April 15, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Congratulations to Sandy Pool, whose second book of poetry, Undark: An Oratorio, has been shortlisted for the prestigious Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry by the Alberta Literary Awards. This award comes with a $1500 cash prize. Congratulations to the other nominees who include Jenna Butler for her collection, Wells (University of Alberta Press) and Nora […]

Carleton Wilson wins Alcuin Society Book Award

Posted by on March 27, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Congratulations to Nightwood Editions book designer, Carleton Wilson, for winning 3rd place in the 2012 Alcuin Society Award for Excellence in Book Design in Poetry for the striking cover art and book design of Darren Bifford‘s latest collection, Wedding in Fire Country.  The winning books will be exhibited in Germany at the Frankfurt and Leipzig Book Fairs; in […]

Tim Bowling wins Delta Heritage Award

Posted by on February 13, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Congratulations to Nightwood author Tim Bowling, who has been selected as the recipient of the Delta Friends of Heritage Award for his book The Lost Coast.  Bowling was selected for this award for his lyrical depiction of Delta’s early fishing industry. The Lost Coast is an impassioned lament for the home Bowling once knew and for the river and creatures that continue to haunt his […]

Gregory Scofield wins prestigious Writer-in-Residence spot at UW

Posted by on December 7, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Nightwood is pleased to announce that Gregory Scofield has been chosen as the recipient of the prestigious Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence program at the University of Winnipeg for 2013. Scofield is UWinnipeg’s eighth Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence. As Writer-in-Residence, he will meet with writing students and members of the public in private consultations from January 1 until March 31, 2013. […]

Tim Bowling, the Acorn-Plantos People’s Poet of 2012!

Posted by on November 19, 2012 at 10:47 am

Congratulations to Tim Bowling who has been selected as 2012 Acorn-Plantos Peoples Poet, based on his latest poetry collection, Tenderman! The  Acorn-Plantos Award for Peoples Poetry is awarded annually to a Canadian poet, based on a book published in the previous calendar year. The work should follow in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos and […]

Tim Bowling shortlisted for the Acorn-Plantos Poetry Award

Posted by on October 11, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Tim Bowling, renowned author and winner of the 2012 Alberta Literary Award for Poetry, has just received another accolade for his work. Bowling’s most recent collection of poetry, Tenderman, has just been nominated for the Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry, which is awarded annually to a Canadian poet whose work is accessible to all people […]