Nominations & Awards

Carol Daniels selected for First Nation Communities READ 2017-2018

Posted by on May 17, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Congratulations to Carol Daniels, whose debut novel, Bearskin Diary, has been selected for the First Nation Communities READ program for 2017-2018. Bearskin Diary is also the recipient of the Aboriginal Literature Award, which recognizes the work of creators of outstanding Aboriginal literature, and will be presented to Daniels as part of the National Aboriginal Day […]

Adèle Barclay awarded the 2017 Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

Posted by on May 1, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Congratulations to Adèle Barclay, whose debut poetry collection, If I Were in a Cage I’d Reach Out for You, was awarded the 2017 Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize at the BC Book Prizes. This prize is awarded to the BC author of the best work of poetry published in the preceding year. With “cracking imagery and […]

Lisa Bird-Wilson shortlisted for Saskatchewan Book Awards

Posted by on February 9, 2017 at 4:58 pm
The Red Files

Congratulations to Lisa Bird-Wilson, who has been shortlisted for two Saskatchewan Book Awards for her recent poetry collection, The Red Files. Bird-Wilson is a finalist for the Rasmussen, Rasmussen & Charowsky Indigenous Peoples’ Writing Award and the Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award. The Red Files reflects on the legacy of the residential school system: the […]

Vancouver Poet Raoul Fernandes shortlisted for the 2016 ReLit Award

Posted by on January 26, 2017 at 8:30 am

Congratulations to Raoul Fernandes, whose debut poetry collection, Transmitter and Receiver, has been shortlisted for the 2016 ReLit Award in the poetry category! The prize is awarded to the author of the best work of poetry published by an independent publisher in Canada. Transmitter and Receiver is a masterful and carefully depicted exploration of one’s […]

Gregory Scofield wins the Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize

Posted by on November 3, 2016 at 9:45 am

The Latner Writers’ Trust has awarded Gregory Scofield with the 2016 Poetry Prize. The $25,000 prize is awarded annually to a poet in mid-career, in recognition of an outstanding body of work, and is sponsored by the Latner Family Foundation. The award was presented to Scofield at the Writers’ Trust Awards on November 2 at […]

Joe Denham receives Governor General’s Literary Award Nomination

Posted by on October 4, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Joe Denham, winner of the Canadian Authors Association Award for Poetry earlier this year, is a finalist  for the Governor General’s Literary Award in the poetry category for his third collection, Regeneration Machine (Nightwood Editions, 2015). Founded in 1936, the Governor General’s Literary Award honours the best in Canadian literature, with seven different categories for both […]

Nightwood Editions poets Joe Denham and Kayla Czaga win 2016 CAA Awards

Posted by on June 21, 2016 at 10:05 am

Congratulations to Joe Denham and Kayla Czaga for their Canadian Authors Association (CAA) award wins! Denham’s third poetry collection, Regeneration Machine has won the 2016 CAA Award for Poetry! The prize is awarded to the Canadian author of the best work of poetry published in the preceding year. Czaga won the CAA Emerging Writer Award awarded […]

Congratulations to Donna Macdonald

Posted by on May 30, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Nelson author Donna Macdonald has won the 2016 Richard Carver Award for Emerging Writers for her memoir, Surviving City Hall (Nightwood Editions). She shares the award with Kootenay Bay novelist Alanda Greene. The award is sponsored by the Nelson and District Arts Council and the Elephant Mountain Literary Festival and honours emerging writers who show dedication to […]

Kayla Czaga Wins National Poetry Prize and Receives New Nomination!

Posted by on June 9, 2015 at 12:27 pm

This is shaping up to be an incredible year for Kayla Czaga! Having already been nominated for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, her debut collection, For Your Safety Please Hold On, has now been awarded the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award! The award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year […]

Congratulations Kayla Czaga

Posted by on March 11, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Nightwood’s Fall 2014 author Kayla Czaga has just been nominated for the prestigious Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize for her first collection, For Your Safety Please Hold On. Her book is the only debut title to make the award shortlist. We’re hopeful she may take home the prize, since several of the poems in her shortlisted […]